Lifetime Achievement Awards

Lifetime achievement awards are conferred on researchers who have made outstanding contributions to cephalopod research and/or the ideals and aims of CIAC. Awardees are granted honorary life membership in CIAC. Details for nomination can be found on the Honorary Life Members page and descriptions of awardees can be found in the corresponding submenu.

CIAC 2022, Sesimbra, Portugal
Dr. Patrizia Jereb, Italy [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Roger Hanlon, USA

CIAC 2018, St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Dr. Bernd Ulrich Budelmann, University of Texas Medical Branch, USA [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Marek Lipinski, Dept. of Agriculture, Forestry, and Fisheries, South Africa [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Mike Vecchione, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, USA

CIAC 2015, Hakodate, Japan
†Prof. Ron O’Dor, Dalhouse University, Halifax, Canada
Prof. Paul Rodhouse, British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK [awarded in absentia]
Prof. Tsunemi Kubodera, National Museum of Science and Nature, Tokyo, Japan.

CIAC 2012, Florianópolis, Brazil
Prof. Angel Guerra, Instituto de Investigaciones Marinas (CSIC), Vigo, Spain
Dr. Marion Nixon, University College London, UK [awarded in absentia]
†Prof. Nancy Voss, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miamii, USA [awarded in absentia]

CIAC 2009, Vigo, Spain
†Dr. Sigurd von Boletzky, Observatoire océanologique de Banyuls and C.N.R.S., France
Dr. F.G. (Eric) Hochberg, Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, California, USA [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Chingis Muhametovich Nigmatullin, Atlantic Research Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanography, Kaliningrad, Russia

CIAC 2006, Hobart, Australia
†Prof. Peter R. Boyle, University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen, UK [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Chung-Cheng Lu, National Chung Hsing University, Taichung, Taiwan

CIAC 2003, Phuket, Thailand
Dr. Andrew Packard, Stazione Zoologica, Naples, Italy [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Richard E. Young, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA [awarded in absentia]

CIAC 2000, Aberdeen, Scotland
Prof. John B. Messenger, University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Clyde F.E. Roper, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC, USA

CIAC 1997, Capetown, South Africa
†Dr. Malcolm R. Clarke, The Laboratory, Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom, Plymouth, UK [awarded in absentia]
Dr. Takashi Okutani, Tokyo University of Fisheries, Tokyo, Japan [awarded in Santa Barbara in June]
†Dr. Martin J. Wells, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK [awarded in absentia]

CIAC 1994, Vico Equense, Italy
†Dr. Katharina M. Mangold, Laboratoire Arago, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Banyuls-sur-Mer, France

CIAC 1988, Washington DC
†Dr. William Adam, Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique, Brussels, Belgium [awarded in absentia]
†Dr. Gilbert L. Voss, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, Miami, Florida, USA

CIAC 1985, Banyuls-sur-Mer, France
†Dr. Anna M. Bidder, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK [awarded in absentia]
†Dr. Kir N. Nesis, P.P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology, Moscow, Russia
†Prof. John Z. Young, University College London, London, UK [awarded in absentia]

Note: †, deceased.

%d bloggers like this: